Theme park hopping

Being from Florida, I pretty much grew up riding extreme roller coasters. My family would always take me to experience the parks whenever they could for as long as I can remember. It’s always been a fond memory for me of my childhood. So after yesterday’s taste of just one ride at Movie World, I was ready to see more. If it weren’t for my friend Emma (shoutout to my girl!) I would not have had been able to go otherwise. Ya know, having a backpackers budget limits me from doing many things. But hey, I knew what I was getting into when I booked tickets too Australia. It’s fucking expensive out here!

Macca’s

Our first stop of the day was McDonald’s aka Maccas for breakfast right across from the Movie World theme park. This was my first experience with Macca’s, Australia and my expectations were pretty high. My friend had hyped it up MEGA time. She mentioned how you can customise your burgers and how they use fresh ingredients. After hearing this, how could I not give it a try? The first thing that caught my eye was touch screen menu. I sat there for a while deciding on what to order. I settled on the English brekkie wrap, which I might add, looked quite exquisite in the photo. But it definitely wasn’t. What I had in front of me was a wrap with fake scrambled eggs, 2 sausages, and wait for it… Barbecue sauce?! WHY would they think that that was a good idea?!?! Also the sausages here taste like burger patties! Let’s just say I didn’t finish it.

16231424_10208352356381912_923004621_o

Movie World part 216145368_10208352330621268_387785217_o

Oh yes Warner Bros and Justice League’s awkward love child. At first glance it’s less than impressive, but I was ready for a day at an Aussie theme park. I decided to rate all of the coasters on a modified 1-10 scale. I say “modified” because if I were  to compare it to what I’m used to, they would all get less than a 5.

We started with the first coaster in the park, the Green Lantern coaster. Though small in size, it had many sharp turns and managed to be quite exciting. It was over in just 2 minutes (much like a few of my ex-lovers). I also managed to bang up my bad knee just before even getting on the coaster. Only after the ride did Emma, my friend,  tell me that many people have been injured/died at Australia’s theme parks. Probably a good thing to know before hand, don’t ya think? Though I got the feeling that safety wasn’t going to be anything like back home. Upon entering the park they don’t even check your bags! Who knows what people could be storing in there in there! In my case it was just a 2 liter bottle of water, because why spend $6 on a small bottle of water at a theme park?

One cool thing was that Superman was walking around the park with Wonder Woman and the whole crew. So if you wanna steal a photo with one of them. Or impress your kids, if you have any.

The lines were about 30-90 minutes long for each ride. I’ve learned the art of having patience in these situations, since Disney has queues lasting 2-3 hours during the summers, but it seems like Aussies are a bit impatient. Because it’s summer holidays in Australia, there seemed to be more people than usual in the park.16196798_10208352609468239_623906974_o

My favourite ride in the whole park, there are only 5 and only 4 of those were open, is Arkham Asylum. This ride boasted about being “The first virtual reality coaster in the Southern Hemisphere”. For an extra $5 you can borrow some VR (virtual reality) goggles to use on the ride. You can tell it’s a new addition, or just my bad luck, because it took 3 pairs of goggles until I finally got one that worked. When we finally took off it was like I stepped into Batman’s world. When I turned my head I could see and villains and monsters at every corner. It was like I was actually there. I won’t lie, this worried me to an extent because the ride moves so fast and the goggles distract you from what’s going on around you. But it was still worth it…. Oh, this is another bad time to mention that a week later, that ride got stuck with people on it and they had to be “rescued”. So, there’s that.

16196548_10208352609508240_1373878787_o

After we had our fill of thrills, we went to China town for lunch. That’s when I realized that Gold Coast has theme-painted koalas littered around the city. I couldn’t help but take a picture with one!15977755_10208316555566914_5147475918598251637_n

Seaworld of disappointment

16145311_10208352357381937_1564645394_o

Seaworld in Australia is nothing like it is back home. There is only one adult “coaster” and even that was closed for the day. It’s basically a glorified zoo for children.I guess I should have listened to Emma when she tried to tell me to keep my expectations low. The only cool section of the park was the Spongebob Squarepants area. And that’s because I used to love that show as a kid and can still quote episodes to this day.

We walked around for maybe 30 minutes before deciding it was too hot and boring and decided to leave to go back to our hotel. It was also the hottest hour of the day and all I  wanted to do was spend the rest of the afternoon by the pool. Which is exactly what I did. I even found the dad and daughter that I’d met the day before at the pool. I tried to convince them to join me at surfers paradise beach, but they refused. So I actually never ended up going to the beach during this trip. 😦 I did however get to eat some super fattening, but delicious donuts!

16196907_10208352353301835_1764249275_o

16144095_10208352352741821_104656121_nI’m not lying when I say that Seaworld is pretty much not worth going to if you come to Australia. If you don’t believe me then go see for yourself. All you’ll fins are some really sad penguins and polarbears in 40 degree heat.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

